top of page
Writer's pictureNoelle Gauna

How to journal about your mental health?

Well if you like journaling this should be easy for you. If you’ve never journaled it's so relaxing and it’s a way to help you with anxiety, depression, stress, and bipolar depression. Journaling is also a way of expressing yourself and when you look back you’ll realize how much you’ve grown.


Tip #1 - Opening your journal


The first thing you should do is open your journal and go to the first page. The first page usually has a line where you put your name. An example would be " This Journal belongs to _________." you'd write your name, and after you write your name there is more space on top or below the page and maybe you could write about what you hope journaling could do for you, or maybe even write about what journaling means to you at that very moment. It could be negative or positive.


Tip #2 -Where to begin?

There are many things you can do just by journaling. You could draw, write, and even set it on fire if you really want to. Drawing and writing are forms of expressing yourself or seeing yourself. Drawing is more advanced, it is a beautiful thing to draw and you can draw whatever you want. You can draw yourself or maybe others and also you can draw how you're feeling. So if you are sad you can draw something gloomy or even color the page blue and write something and if your mad draw something that makes you mad or draw why you're mad. There are just so many things you can draw.


As I said before writing is another form on how you can express yourself. You can make a conversation about what you wish people would say to you, and write about how you feel. You can also write a poem and even write a couple of words. Just write whatever you want. This isn't a dairy where you would say "Dear Diary, today I saw a fish l". No just write, I recommened you write the date and on a scale of 1-10 rate how you're feeling the day of.


Joseph Gordon-Levitt on journaling"I like to write. I've gone through different phases in my life of writing in a journal more or less frequently, but it's something I turn to, especially when I'm trying to work through something that's vexing me." Joseph says.

Tip #3 - What to do when your done journaling?


Well, when you get to the end of the journal you can write about what journling did for you and how it made you felt. After that you can burn it, throw it away and maybe give it to a friend to read. Just basically do whatever you want with it, but be SAFE. If you really liked doing this buy another journal and just keep doing what you were doing.



How did journaling help me?

Journaling helped me so much throughout the past 5 maybe 4 years. I love writing poems so it was easy expressing myself. I also drew sometimes and one time I set a page on fire it was pretty cool and it made me feel good. overall, journaling really does help, it may not cure all your problems but it will make a difference in your life.

22 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


mgarcia
May 16, 2023

I will definitely try this, when I was younger, I did a lot of writing just expressed myself and also did a lot of doodling which I still do now. It makes me feel good to just write things down even when I am not having a great day.

Like
Noelle Gauna
Noelle Gauna
May 16, 2023
Replying to

Yeah most definitely, it's a way to cope with things.

Like
bottom of page